Anders Giebel from Denmark - Dx 2007 - RIP 29/04/2011

Those who lost their battle with ASPS :(
Anders

Anders Giebel from Denmark - Dx 2007 - RIP 29/04/2011

Post by Anders »

Hi there
First of all hey everyone :)

My name is Anders Giebel, im 29 and live in Denmark with my beautifull girlfriend and our two wonderfull daughters.
I work as a multi media designer. In my spare time i run when i can, and in the evenings when the kids are sleeping, i often find myself playing MMOPG games on my computer. I love lord of the rings Online ;)-
Guess im a bit of a nerd... i love the Lord of the Rings and have read all the books there are about it.

I was diagnosed with ASPS in early 2007, after a series of false diagnoses. At first i noticed a lumb in my left abb muscle and visited my doctor. he said it was probably a lipoma and actually tried to remove it himself... well he romved something alright, but it was fat and healthy tissue. He then send in the tissue, and i was told eveything was ok... no cancer.

I wasnt pleased with his work, and didnt rally feel anything was removed, so i went to the doktor again, and was then set up for removal at the hospital some weeks later. The doktor who was supposed to remove it, didnt take long to find out something was really wrong here. He said it might be hernia, so i should go and get a CT scan. The CT scan showed no hernia but a lumb. Next i got my MRI scan, and the pictures where send to a danish sarcoma treatmen center. They had a look at it, and substracted a sample... Well it turned out as ASPS, an, as i where told, very rare type of sacoma cancer. Not the best new as you all can relate to. The obnly positive thing i remember about it, was when the doktor said it was slow growing... i figured slow cancer is better than fast.

My tumor was 5-6CM and was removed in april 2007 with really good results. i was back at work within a month and able to do everything besides doing situps.